4th Global Taiwan Studies Cultural Salon webinar " From Taiwanese-language Films to the Future of Taiwan Cinema"

4th Global Taiwan Studies Cultural Salon webinar " From Taiwanese-language Films to the Future of Taiwan Cinema"

European Association of Taiwan Studies invites you to the "4th Global Taiwan Studies Cultural Salon webinar " with the topic "From Taiwanese-language Films to the Future of Taiwan Cinema"
 
📅 Saturday 12 décember, Europe CET: 1:30-3:00pm // UK (BST): 12:30-2:00pm // Taiwan: 8:30-10:00pm // Japan: 9:30-11:00pm // US EDT: 7:30-9:00am.
📍 Online

About

Chris Berry (King’s College London) reflects on his experiences introducing Taiwanese-language cinema in the West with the “Taiwan's Lost Commercial Cinema” project. He asks, how do you launch an unknown cultural brand? And he reflects on the new role of universities as cultural incubators today.
 
Chi Ta-wei (National Chengchi University) will talk about (1) disabilities as shown in Taiyupian and (2) disabilities as shown in Taiwanese cinema in the 21st century. 

Corrado Neri (Jean Moulin University, Lyon 3) proposes a close reading of some interesting and apparently contradictory agendas in Lin Tuanqiu (May 13th, The Husbands Secret, Six Suspects) and Xin Qi movies (The Bride who has returned from Hell, Dangerous Youth) where contemporary audiences can discover, under heavily moralistic overtones, intriguing representations of “devious”, alternative, enticing forms of sin and sex, crime and exploitation in order to help us further understand Taiwanese martial law cinema and culture. He also tries to decipher the legacy of 60s crime movie in contemporary cinema.

Robert Chen (National Chengchi University) proposes to talk about the evolution from the end of Taiwan New Cinema to the current state of Taiwan cinema in terms of subject matters and generic transformation represented by some key films from the end of 20th century till now.

Chin Mei Theater, Tainan (Taiwan)